Marathons and Photographs

I’ve been doing some reading about blogging (being new to this) and there is a definite consensus that you should try to connect with readers by letting people get to know you – and not to go into selling mode.  Understood.

Last month I ran my first New York City Marathon (my second marathon overall).  I’m a lifelong New Yorker and I can proudly say – our city was really at its finest during the race.  Spectators were great, the vibe from the crowd lived up to all the hype I had heard about it, and it was just a great overall experience.

Being a photographer, and having shot professional sports, I was keenly interested in the massive photography operation going on during the race.  Brightroom deployed nearly 100 photographers and shot over 800,000 images – that’s quite the task.  I can’t image the army of people sitting at a bank of computers tagging all of those photos with bib numbers so you can find your images…

Some observations:

  1. Having photographers high above the crowd in cherry pickers may look cool but shooting down on people is never a good technique.  The images from high up prove that out.
  2. Shoot  tight – crop tighter.  Works for  most sports images – applies here as well.
  3. Finish Line – yeah it’s the classic shot but unless you’re one of the dozen pros in the front of the pack – the time on the clock isn’t going to be correct. In my case the clock was only 4 minutes off (I crossed the start line 4 minutes after the race started) but if you’re in wave 3 you’re already 1 full hour off on the photo of the finish.  Sure you can photoshop in your real time but, really?

There were plenty of photos for me to choose from to purchase –I’d say around 15 or more. I chose this one for a few reasons:

  1. Tight shot without anyone else’s full face as a distraction to the viewer
  2. Context: the traffic light and buildings in the background let the viewer know where was shot
  3. Pretty good depth of field
  4. Sharpness and clarity spot on
  5. Lighting not too bad

Nice job, Brightroom.

Oh, and I  loved the two  guys holding the signs as you crossed the Willis Ave. Bridge:  “Welcome to the Bronx” on the first sign –  and the two  guys five feet further up with their sign: “Now Leave.”

2 thoughts on “Marathons and Photographs

  1. True to form, I have already gotten my mitts on your blog post and got rid of that grammatically incorrect comma. Thank you for being tolerant of my compulsiveness!

Leave a Reply

