Quintessential New England Christmas Card Picture

KleinImages

Nothing says Merry Christmas like a New England winter scene. And there is no better winter scene than a snow covered farm. And there is no better snow covered farm than Jenne Farm. You’ve seen this place before even if you don’t know it. It’s in the small town of Reading, Vermont. This farm has appeared in Budweiser commercials, Forest Gump and Funny Farm. It’s been on the cover of Life, Vermont Life, Yankee magazine. Some say it’s anywhere from one of the most photographed farms in New England to one of the most photographed farms in the world.

I’ve photographed it three times; twice in the fall and once in the winter. There’s a small donation box next to one of the trees by the road; I always leave a few bucks and if you ever shoot there you should donate a few dollars as well. I’ve heard stories – don’t know if they are true or urban (rural?) legend – that the owners never got their fair share when large commercial shoots took place there. I always make a point to buy some maple syrup when I’m there. It’s not what you’d expect – no fancy made for tourists farm stand; I had to find someone inside the cluttered barn to sell me the syrup. About as genuine as it gets.

I like making holiday cards from pictures I’ve taken and sending them out to clients. They don’t have to be Christmas Cards – a great winter scene on a card just works this time of year – even if you’re Jewish like I am. I currently use Digilabs for printing the cards (I like the quality of the stock paper and color correction) but have also used Shutterfly in the past.

My holiday gift to you – drop me an email and I’ll email you back a high-resolution version of this picture so you can use it on your cards next holiday season.

All the best for a Merry Christmas, Happy Hannukah, and happy and healthy New Year.

4 thoughts on “Quintessential New England Christmas Card Picture

  1. I was just to the farm, Nd the leaves were all off the trees. But it was beautiful. I would love a copy of
    Your print if it is possible. You captured it perfectly and I loved it.

  2. This is the perfect website for everyone who really wants to understand this topic. You understand a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic that has been written about for decades. Wonderful stuff, just great!

  3. As a former long-time residend of Reading and a cousin of the Jenne family, I was saddened by both the death of “Junior” and the subsequent sale of the farm. I hope the new owners don’t mess with perfection.

    I’d love the high res picture for both Christmas cards and for the wallpaper on my computer!

    Thanks!

  4. I’d like a copy of the picture too. My company just wants to send an email out to thank our customers and wish them happy holidays. We support farm to table and local farmers in the mid-atlantic area. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

